Published in 2000 to commemorate the 50th birthday of Ysgol Bod Alaw, this bilingual book is full of the history and of memories of the school from its origins at Rivieres Avenue to its present home on the site of Barberry Hill, where Llandrillo College was first established before moving to its present site.
The task of collating the book was undertaken by L. Rhiannon Jones, Nancy Jones and Jean Sockett with contributions from two former head teachers, former teachers, a former parent, former pupils and the (then) present headmaster.
Along with the memories it also includes a good selection of photographs.
The origins of the school can be found in the National Eisteddfod’s visit to the town in 1947 as described in a fascinating summary of “The Establishing of Ysgol Bod Alaw” from the work of Rhisiart ap Rhys.
During the period the book covers the headteachers were:
Headmistress 1950-1965 Miss Eluned Roberts
Headmaster 1966-1982 Mr. T. Gwynn Jones
Headmaster 1982-1993 Mr. Llew Jones
Headmaster 1993- Mr. Moi Parry
For former pupils of the school it brings back a great many memories of the teachers, fellow pupils and the buildings.
This book is available for loan from Colwyn Bay Library.
Ysgol Bod Alaw, Bae Colwyn, 1950-2000: Deuparth Gwaith ei Ddechrau: Published by the school: 2000.