Famous Five Plus One

Dim ond yn Saesneg mae’r dudalen hon ar gael ar hyn o bryd.

On 20th May 2026 Heritage Group member Gordon Jones gave a fascinating presentation on five prominent figures in the history of Colwyn Bay, and how their lives crossed during a pivotal period in the town’s development.

About the Talk

These five individuals each played a unique role in shaping Colwyn Bay as a new town and resort between 1865 and around 1900. Remarkably, research has revealed that the ‘Famous Five’ not only knew each other, but frequently worked together and assisted one another as the town grew. Remnants of their significance can still be found around Colwyn Bay today.

All five are buried within just a few metres of each other at St Trillo Church — a discovery that adds a compelling layer to their intertwined stories.

John Porter – Agent to Sir John Pender. John Porter bought the lease of Pwllycrochan mansion and opened it as a hotel in 1866.  He bought the freehold in 1875. John was church warden at St Trillo’s for 29 years (commemorated by a plaque in the church) and worked closely with Rev. William Venables Williams. He was a JP, Magistrate and a member of various committees to develop Colwyn Bay. Such was his influence that upon his death he was described as the ‘Father of Colwyn Bay’. His son, John Merry Porter, became an architect with a practice in Colwyn Bay. He designed many buildings in the area, including Colwyn Bay library.

Rev. William Venables Williams – arrived as vicar of the Parish of Llandrillo yn Rhos in 1869. He immediately immersed himself in the development of Colwyn Bay and Rhos on Sea, and in securing improved conditions for the Parish inhabitants e.g. influential in reducing the cost of medicine for the poor. 

rev w venables williams

He became a JP and Magistrate and sat on a number of influential development committees. He was behind the increase in the tithe to pay for the running of the Congregational Church in Colwyn Bay which resulted in soldiers and extra police being called in to enforce the tithe. In 1887 he gave the end of term speech at TG Osborn’s Rydal Mount School. In 1900 Jules Riviere conducted the opening concert for the new Colwyn Bay pier – Rev Venables Williams blessed the pier at its opening. He died in 1900. A fountain in his memory was erected in 1906, paid for by public subscription; it is on the Rhos on Sea promenade.

Daniel Allen – a store owner from Leek, Staffordshire, who moved with his wife to Colwyn Bay in 1879 to open the Daniel Allen store (later Daniel Allen & Sons), living above the premises in Station Road. The store was known for its high class hand-made furniture and porcelain and glass ware.

Daniel was a church warden in Colwyn Bay, assisting the Rev Venables Williams. He organised a petition to support the Reverend’s appointment of as vicar of the new Parish of Colwyn Bay, though this was ultimately unsuccessful. 

He died in 1896, though the store remained in family hands until it closed in 1971.

Station Road

Thomas George Osborn (TGO) – TGO, as he was known, bought Rydal Mount in 1885 having been a successful Headmaster at a Methodist school in Somerset. There were 15 pupils when the school opened. Pupil numbers increased under TGO reaching over 100 by 1899 but had begun to fall by the time of his death in 1910 (70 pupils). His son, George, took over as Headmaster but numbers continued to fall until he relinquished control after 5 years when the school had just over 40 pupils. The Rev A J Costain was appointed in 1915 and revitalised Rydal School which then enjoyed one of its most successful periods. 

Jules Prudence Riviere – Jules was born in Paris. He was a very talented musician, prolific composer and famous conductor. A flamboyant showman, he would conduct his 42 piece orchestra in a velvet jacket using a jewel encrusted baton. After conducting his orchestra in Llandudno in the 1890s he was enticed to Colwyn Bay in 1899 by the opening of the new pier (in 1900), complete with a 2,500 seat theatre. He conducted the opening concert, securing the talents of Madame Patti, a famous singer in her day.

Jules Riviere

The road in which he briefly lived in Colwyn Bay was renamed Riviere’s Avenue in his honour. His house still bears the name he gave it – Bod Alaw.


Henri Verbrugghen
– Henri was a very talented violinist and later an eminent conductor. He arrived in Llandudno as the lead violinist with the Riviere Orchestra and moved with Riviere to Colwyn Bay as Deputy Conductor.

Henri went on to play with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and conduct orchestras in Scotland, Australia and the USA. 

He married in Llandudno in 1898. They had a daughter, Sylvia Rosa, in July 1900. Sadly she died aged 11 months in early July 1901 and is buried at St Trillo churchyard. Henri died in the USA in 1934; four of his children survived him.

Future events: Free ‘Heroes Exhibition’ at St Trillo church 13th-20th June (10am-4pm, and to 7pm on 17th and 18th June).

Rhannwch y dudalen hon
Colwyn Bay Heritage Group