
Famous Five, Plus One
On 20th May 2026 Heritage Group member Gordon Jones gave a fascinating presentation on five prominent figures in the history of Colwyn…
Bringing you the latest news about history and heritage in Colwyn Bay

On 20th May 2026 Heritage Group member Gordon Jones gave a fascinating presentation on five prominent figures in the history of Colwyn…

The weekend of 16th/17th May 2026 was the birthday celebration of the Welsh Mountain Zoo. In conversation I discovered a…

A 1940s Film Noir — Filmed in Colwyn Bay & Llandudno, North Wales. Written & produced by Sofia Mavrou. Directed…

How a Scottish merchant laid the Victorian internet — and quietly founded a Welsh seaside town in the process GENESIS…

Extensively researched and published by Arthur Holden with additional material by Aled Williams. Colwyn Bay Football Club is one of…

The Colwyn Bay Heritage Group’s newsletter is available as part of the ‘Then and Now’ e-mailing list. These newsletters will…

During 2025 Colwyn Bay Heritage Group is planning a series of visits to notable buildings, businesses and services related to…

Ethel Hovey’s name should be synonymous with Colwyn Bay and the history of women’s contributions in Wales. Yet, despite her remarkable…

The Colwyn Bay Heritage Group is very pleased to launch our new look website. This update has been made possible…

Come on an adventure with the Imagine Trail… The Bay of Colwyn and Mochdre’s past is brought to life with…

Colwyn Bay Heritage Group’s Annual General Meeting will be held on Thursday, November 28th at Colwyn Bay Library, Woodland Road…

In 1985 about 1,000 Jehovah’s Witness volunteers from all over the country came to build the Kingdom Hall and two…

The work of local architect Sidney Colwyn Foulkes. St. John’s Church House, to the side of St. John’s Church, is…

The Heritage Group has recently started work on the Old Colwyn Heritage Walk which will be available as a free…

“The park by the sea”, as Eirias Park was once described, covers 52 acres. The first 27 acres were bought by the council on April 12th, 1921 and the remainder in 1929.