Original Pier Ticket Office (Rhos-on-Sea Heritage Walk)

The former Pierhead and the octagonal stone building which should still be there was the original Pier Ticket Office. Rhos once had a very substantial pier 1500 feet long (bought second hand from Douglas in the Isle of Man in 1895). The ‘Colwyn Bay & Liverpool Steamship Co’ operated a regular passenger steamship service for many years between Liverpool and Holyhead and used this pier to set down passengers for Rhos and Colwyn Bay.

rhos pier

In the Second World War the Home Guard removed many of the planks from the pier, so that any invading German soldiers using the pier for a night-time invasion would fall through the holes!

Share this page
Colwyn Bay Heritage Group